Sweet Charity

I do not consider myself a fashion guru. I don’t really read fashion magazines, nor do I try and keep up to date with the latest, and often ridiculous, catwalk creations. I do though like to wear nice clothes and like to think that when I leave the house in the morning I look alright. I’m particularly partial to a little vintage shopping and can often be found buying floral dresses that I think make me look like Zooey Deschannel. (I in no way do look like her, but a girl can dream can’t she?). What I do not like though, is the stupid prices that clothes cost as soon as the ‘vintage’ label is put on them. Thus came about my love of charity shopping, and the time has come to spread the word.

There is a stigma with charity shops. I can remember shopping in my local town centre after school with my mum, stood outside a charity shop waiting for her becasue I refused to go inside in case any of my school friends saw me. And yes, a lot of the time, they do smell. And yes, a lot the things for sale are quite frankly, crap. But with a little patience and imagination, charity shops are a treasure trove of vintage fashion and gorgoeus accessories, for dirt cheap. Like I said, I dont consider myself to be a ‘fashionable’ person, but the number of people that ask me where I got my bag from, or ‘oh I love your dress, where did you get it?’ and to be honest, I relish in telling those people that I got it from a charity shop and that it cost me a couple of quid. A lot of people say they just can’t be bothered  to rummage through all the stuff,  but my advise would be persevere, and the results can be rewarding.  Sometime it’s not about finding a dress that is perfect, but seeing the potential in something. With a little taking in, taking up, or cutting up you can make a bespoke item that cost peanuts.

And it’s not just clothes. Charity shops are full of books, picture frames, vases, teapots, teacups, wool, cushions and jewelery. One of my favourite ever purchases was from a charity shop in Manchester where I bought a pair of rollerblades for £2. Tom’s mum bought his dad a pair of skis for christmas last year. They cost less than a tenner.

And the best thing about this? It’s for charity. You can buy that gorgeous 80’s blouse and know that your money is going to a good cause. Charities heavily rely on the funds raised from their shops, so even if you buy a ring for 50p, it all counts.

And this brings me to my new venture blog readers. I want to create a space in the online stratosphere where I can showcase the things I have bought, things my friends have bought and the work that these wonderful charities do. Inspired by blogs like What I Wore Today, I want to create an environment where I can show how easy it is to find fab clothes in that old charity shop on your highstreet. I also want to showcase those people that give up their time to volunteer in shops, learn the stories behind their dedication and understand the hard work they do.

So watch this space blog readers, ‘The Kind You Find’ is coming soon…..

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

